Home >The winners of the 2018 BICSc NI Nation Awards

The winners of the 2018 BICSc NI Nation Awards

14 September 2018

The BICSc Northern Ireland Nation held their annual awards ceremony at the prestigious Belfast City Hall on Friday 7th Sept 2018 for BICSc NI Nation “Cleaning Operative of the Year” and a new category for this year “Supervisor Recognition.”

Councillor Aileen Graham opened the ceremony in the company of the National Chair of BICSc Sue Robinson, BICSc NI Nation Chairman Colm McGrath and BICSc CEO Stan Atkins.

Entries were received from both public and private cleaning organisations from across the province.

The sponsors, Zenith Hygiene, Consumable Products, Carey Floorcare, Kimberly-Clark, Bunzl, Diversey and BICSc NI Nation had the difficult task of judging the finalists.

BICSc NI Nation Chairman Colm McGrath gave his keynote speech and thanked everyone in attendance for their cleaning operatives being nominated for this year’s awards.

He went on to say that “the cleaning operatives are the backbone of our workforces ensuring client buildings are maintained in a clean and safe environment, special word of thanks to Mervyn Perry BICSc NI & Mr MC Michael Henderson MBE.”


2018 Category winners

The Education Award sponsored by Zenith Hygiene: Renee Starbuck, Queens University            

The Retail Award sponsored by Carey Floorcare: Martina McAleer, Robinsons Services         

The Manufacturing Award sponsored by Kimberly-Clark: Chris McGinley, Sodexo                

The Healthcare Award sponsored by BUNZL: Brogan Abram, Northern Trust               

The Office Award sponsored by BICSc NI Nation: Vicky Goodwin, Aramark              

The Hospitality & Leisure Award sponsored by Consumable Products: Emma Averill, Roe Valley Resort       

Supervisor Recognition sponsored by Diversey: Alison Bell, Aramark                        


2018 overall winner

Martina McAleer, Robinsons Services